Box Office 01603 598598 or Book Online

Back to listings

Brian Korteling

Brian Korteling

Brian Korteling’s work explores the spread of digitally produced images and the plausible mutation of the ideas they contain. He paints in oils because doing so creates a moment that can last; it is something that is and something that has happened. Korteling paints each pixel by hand, like the worlds slowest and least accurate printer.

“In a very short space of time digital technology has revolutionized reality. Low quality amateur images and videos appear before us on social media sites, news broadcasts, in bars and shopping centres. We receive a dose of reality with our breakfast through our phones. People are beheaded whilst cats do cute stuff. Protesters in Russia get beaten to a pulp. Islamic extremists in Bradford attack cars with kids in the back. A dog does a back flip. People go on information diets. Governments conspire, mad people panic and go surfing. The end of the world comes and goes again, the threat rises, China looms. We eat breakfast. It's not all war.”

 

1st November to 30th November

Juliet Sen Gupta

Juliet Sen-Gupta’s work draws on her Anglo-Indian background and she draws influence from Matisse, Paul Klee, Bridget Riley and Amish Kappor. Her interests lie within the colour palette of the East and through looking into the way that colour works in shape and form.

Sen-Gupta has worked with art since 1996 and after completing a degree in Film Studies at UEA, she was drawn to painting and went on to study at Norwich Art School. She has now exhibited in a number of solo and collaborative shows, including Cley Contemporary Art.

“I am interested in the therapeutic aspects of art and studied art therapy at postgraduate level. However, my real focus is art making. I am enjoying developing my practice now that my family is grown up.”

1st December to 31st December

BEAST Illustration

We're BEAST!Norwich, a collective of friendly illustrators drawing and painting in the fine city of Norwich, out in the east of England.

Fiona Gowen: fionagowen.co.uk, @FionaGDraws
Grace Sandford: gracesandford.com, @GraceSandford
Karl Newson: karlnewson.co.uk, @Karlwheel
David Hurtado: davidhurtado.com, @dh_illustration
Mark Standbrook: markstandbrook.com, @Bandstander
Kellee Rich: kelleerich.com, @KelleeRich

You can follow us on Twitter at @BeastNorwich

1st December to 31st December